Monday, November 15, 2010

Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Advisory Committee Created

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) announced the establishment of the Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Advisory Committee (ERAC). ERAC is a federal advisory committee whose members will report directly to the Secretary of Energy with advice on the portfolio of the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE). The 19 members selected have experience in a variety of sectors and will bring a range of technical expertise and perspectives to the committee.

ERAC will periodically review EERE's portfolio and provide advice to the Secretary of Energy on a variety of areas including: completion of long-range plans, priorities and strategies; program funding; and any issues of specific concern expressed by the Secretary or the Assistant Secretary for EERE. ERAC is expected to meet twice a year; the meetings will be open to the public. The Committee is being established in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA). DOE also expects to organize various subcommittees under ERAC.

The members ERAC are:

Yet-Ming Chiang - Kyocera Professor of Ceramics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Lonnie Edelheit - Senior Vice President, Research & Development, General Electric Company (Retired)
Ira Ehrenpreis - General Partner, Technology Partners
Philip Giudice - Commissioner, Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources
Hal Harvey - CEO, ClimateWorks Foundation
Mark Jacobson - Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Director, Atmosphere/Energy Program, Stanford University
Jay Keasling - CEO, Joint BioEnergy Institute and Professor, University of California, Berkeley
Neal Lane - The Malcolm Gillis University Professor, Rice University
Ed Lazowska - Bill & Melinda Gates Chair in Computer Science & Engineering, University of Washington
Richard Lester - Japan Steel Industry Professor, Head of the Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering, and faculty co-chair and founding Director of the Industrial Performance Center, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Kathleen McGinty - Operating Partner, Element LLC
Arati Prabhakar - Partner, U.S. Venture Partners
Stanley Pruss - Partner, 5 Lakes Energy LLC
Burton Richter - Paul Pigott Professor in the Physical Sciences Emeritus, Senior Fellow Freeman Spogli Institute of International Studies, Stanford University; and Director Emeritus, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center
Arthur Rosenfeld - Distinguished Scientist Emeritus, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Janette Sadik-Khan - Commissioner, New York City Department of Transportation
Subir Sanyal - President and Manager of Reservoir Engineering Services, GeothermEx, Inc.
Maxine Savitz - General Manager, Honeywell/AlliedSignal (Retired)
Mark Stoering - Vice President, Portfolio Strategy & Business Development, Xcel Energy

You can read the original DOE news release here.

No comments:

Post a Comment